Welcome from the Academy Council (Governing Body) 

Welcome to our Academy Council page.  The Shaw Education Trust Board supports and challenges the leadership team as required and the Trust Board maintains overall legal control of Moorhill Primary School.

Local accountability is secured through the Academy Council.  The Academy Council of Moorhill is made up of a group of people from a wide range of backgrounds, who give their time freely to work with the Head teacher and Senior Leadership Team to ensure that every child achieves his or her full potential.

The Academy Council is passionate about improving and maintaining Moorhill’s standards academically and to give the children the best environment in which to learn and ensure the school continues to be a key focus of our community.  The children are at the heart of everything we do at Moorhill.

If you would like to know more about the work of the Academy Council, or you are interested in joining, please contact the school.

Mrs Hayley Hill
Chair of Governors

Email: hayley.hill@moorhill.set.org

Our Academy Council (Governing Body)

All State Primary Schools are accountable to their governing bodies, which in turn are accountable to parents and the community. The Governing Body is made up of members of the local authority, community, parents and staff. Governors serve a term of 4 years and can put themselves forward at the end of their term for re-election.

At Moorhill we have a dedicated team of governors, committed to the key roles of:

  • Ensuring the clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Holding the HT to account for the education performance of the school and its pupils,and the performance management of staffs.
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


Mrs. H. Hill Chair of Academy Council / Link Councillor for Health, Safety & Well-being
Mrs. S. Sindrey Headteacher
Ms C. Worrall Vice Chair of Academy Council / Link Governor for Safeguarding including online safety & Prevent/ Looked After Children
Mrs. L. Banks Link Councillor for EYFS/SEND link
Mrs. J. Trusler Link Councillor for Finance
Mrs J. Owen

Link Councillor for Pupil Premium / Parent Councillor

Ms M. Martland Staff Governor
Mrs. M. Wortley Staff Councillor


  • Admissions
  • Attendance
  • Behaviour
  • Curriculum
  • Progress
  • SEND
  • Pupil Premium
  • Alternative Provision


  • Staffing
  • Staff Attendance
  • Staff Training
  • Safeguarding
  • Health, Safety & Well-being
  • Premises
  • Finance

Link to National Governors Association (NGA)

Governors Documents

Updated: 12/09/2022 147 KB
Updated: 12/09/2022 100 KB
Updated: 12/09/2022 606 KB